Planet Waves O-Port Review

Planet Waves O-PortA little while ago I received a Planet Waves O-Port in the mail from the kind folks over at D'Addario. I was eager to install it on my acoustic guitar, as it promised to improve both the quality and quantity of sound that comes out of it.

Installing the O-Port is a fairly simple process, you just take the strings off, bend the rubbery O-Port in half, put it into the sound hole, let it pop back out into full shape, and then adjust the positioning to where you want it. Put your strings back on, and you're all set.

You'll see exactly what I mean in the video below, and although I did cut out a bit of the video (just the string winding and stuff) for the sake of time, it really doesn't take long to install the Planet Waves O-Port.

Once installed, I can personally say I do notice a big difference in the tone of the guitar. I don't know how well that translated onto this video, and of course the sound you hear is dependent on the speakers you're using as well.

What I can tell you is I didn't modify or edit the before and after sound at all, what I played is what you get. I also used a good quality microphone, though my position relative to the microphone changes a tiny bit, and that can really affect the sound as well.

Regardless of how well the difference in sound comes through on the video, I can tell you that when playing the guitar, I definitely notice a difference. In fact, I can feel the difference; the body seems to resonate a bit more than before. I really notice a lot more response in the lowest frequencies, and in general the guitar has a cleaner, less muddy sound to it. It's a bit hard to describe, but it is definitely there.

You can find the Planet Waves O-Port on Amazon.com - they're under $20 last I checked.

Planet Waves O-Port Review

Watch the Planet Waves O-Port Review on Youtube

Tags: , , , ,

15 Responses to “Planet Waves O-Port Review”

  1. Chuck July 9, 2011 at 2:00 am #

    Jonathan,

    My acoustic guitar has built in pickups away from the sound hole but inside of the body. What effect would this device have on that kind of guitar??

    • Jonathan July 11, 2011 at 10:51 am #

      Hi Chuck, as long as the O-Port doesn't physically interfere with your pickup (that would depend on where the pickup is positioned) then you shouldn't have any problems.

      Planet Waves claim that this really improves feedback issues as well, so you might actually notice an improvement in plugged in performance as well. Personally I've not had an opportunity yet to test that out properly.

  2. andrew July 26, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    i was just wondering about the o port i have just bought one. and was wondering if i had to take it out every time i need to adjust the truss rod as its in the sound hole. or do you think it would be ok to put a hole in it for adjusting it. or would this be just damageing the effect it will have cheers

    • Jonathan July 26, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

      Hi Andrew - I'd recommend removing the O-Port prior to adjusting your truss rod.

      You said "every time I need to adjust the truss rod" - is this something you're doing frequently? It shouldn't have to be adjusted that often unless you're storing the guitar in extreme environments, or if there is something else wrong with the guitar... ?

      • andrew July 26, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

        sorry just put it in a way that sounds bad cheers for the advice

  3. george January 19, 2012 at 8:54 am #

    hello ! is the o port also working on a guitar without a micro or some other amplification? played just purely? many thanks, george

    • Jonathan January 19, 2012 at 8:58 am #

      Hi George - it works well in all situations... if you're using a mic, or a pickup, or just dry.

  4. Simon February 18, 2012 at 10:39 am #

    To be honest, it sounds like a great deal of the guitar's natural tone and resonance are lost with the O-port in place. I think it sounds better without....

    • george February 20, 2012 at 12:08 am #

      thanks for the comment simon.

  5. Trevor Gladwin February 28, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

    Hi Jonathan,I am a Seagull fan and have fitted O-Ports to my three and to a Sigma DM4-CV which I recently acquired. Although I'm not an expert, I honestly believe I can hear a difference (for the better) when I add the O-Port, and I can DEFINITELY feel it; the bodies of the guitars resonate noticeably more, which can only be a good thing in the long run?

    So one question: only one of the Seagulls is an acoustic-electric; can I use a sound hole pickup with the others and the Sigma, if O-Ports are in place? I'm guessing the answer is no, but I wondered if it would be feasible to carefully "notch" the O-Port(s), so to speak? What say you?

    Thank you so much,

    Trevor

    • Jonathan February 28, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

      Hi Trevor, I'm not really an expert on that, but in my opinion you MIGHT get away with doing that... If you're careful, I guess worst case scenario is you screw up an O-Port and you're only out $25 or so.

      • Trevor Gladwin February 28, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

        Thanks Jonathan! I won't be rushing to do it, but this problem only hit me after I (just) ordered a sound hole pickup. I'll plan it out first and maybe try one. Otherwise, I'll just return the pickup and go another route - any recommendations on that one?

        Again, big thanks!

        Trevor

        • Jonathan February 28, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

          Hmm, not really. I'd recommend talking to a guitar tech at your local music store and see what they can recommend.

  6. Dennis Beagley March 30, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    Trevor,

    Sorry I'm so late to your post.

    I Love the sound of my o-port in my classical guitar but I also needed to install a pickup. I had heard about JJB Electronics Piezo pickups and thought I would try one. Took the o-port out and installed the two disc system and reinstalled the o-port. I'm getting terrific sound, no feedback, after an easy installation. If the soundhole pickup didn't work this might be a workaround.

    Dennis

  7. Dev November 26, 2015 at 9:32 am #

    I dont think I will buy the o-port for 1500/- rupees
    I have a sound hole pick up installed on my guitar. ...
    And dont thing I can install them both without damaging the o-port..
    I am tempted to buy it but afraid to spend the amount

Leave a Reply